john luther adams
/ calendar

Become River
May 12 2024
Richardson Auditorium
Princeton, USA
Cost: $10-115

Lauded for her “intelligence, integrity and all-encompassing technical prowess” (New York Times) and “thoughtful artistry in the full service of music” (Washington Post), Sara Davis Buechner takes on Ludwig Van Beethoven's first piano concerto. John Luther Adams' Become River explores a river's progress, and Robert Schumann's restlessly romantic fourth symphony departs from classical form with a single movement.

"A formidable soloist, bringing depth, eloquence, and gleeful technical assurance." – San Francisco Chronicle

Due to the length and type of performance, this concert is not suitable for children under the age of 5.


John Luther ADAMS / Become River
Ludwig van BEETHOVEN / Piano Concerto No. 1 in C Major, Op. 15
Robert SCHUMANN / Symphony No. 4 in D Minor, Op. 120 

Key Notes Musical notes

  • John Luther Adams won a Pulitzer prize for his large-scale 2014 work Become OceanBecome River is another of the works in his "Become" trilogy, along with Become Desert. Each work explores aspects of nature.
  • Beethoven wrote his Piano Concerto No. 1 after his second concerto, but published it first owing to his preference for it. 
  • Schumann took over ten years to publish his fourth symphony, doing so after significant revision. The original 1841 version still exists, but it is the more mature 1851 version that we know today.


Rossen Milanov, conductor

Sara Davis Buechner, piano


Richardson Auditorium
68 Nassau St
Princeton, 08540

Phone: (609) 258-5000

John Luther Adams inspires us not only to listen more attentively, but to be more aware of the world in which we live. This … book … should not only be on the shelves of everyone interested in the music of our time but also anyone interested in being alive. -
Frank J. Oteri
john luther adams
From time to time we put out a newsletter of JLA's musings on work in progress, new recordings and publications, and forthcoming performances. Enter your email address below to subscribe.
Copyright © 2024 All rights reserved.