Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Barcelona, Spain—The Wind in High Places

September 17, 2022 @ 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm


Barcelona String Quartet Biennale

Giacinto Scelsi: String Quartet No. 4 (1964) 12′
Núria Giménez-Comas: Von contrapunctus VI (2018) 4′
Daniel Apodaka: New work (2022) 20′ – World premiere, commissioned by L’Auditori and Barcelona Creació Sonora
Fausto Romitelli: Natura morta con fiamme (1991) 9′

Erin Gee: New work (2022) – National premiere
Joan Arnau Pàmies: New work (2022) – World premiere, commissioned by L’Auditori
John Luther Adams: The Wind in High Places (2011) 16′
Eric Wubbels: New work (2022) – National premiere

JACK Quartet
Quartetto Maurice

This double concert offers a broad overview of contemporary compositions for quartet, perhaps the most complex type of ensemble and one which testifies, even today, to a composer’s skills. The concert’s four premieres will bring the audience into contact with ‘new names’ in contemporary composition (given that the term ‘young’ has become increasingly difficult to define), with Álava-born composer Daniel Apodaka (whose influences go beyond music, since a large part of his work also strives to unite poetry, prose, painting and sound); Joan Arnau Pàmies (whose work is strongly influenced by electronic music and the trend toward new complexities); Erin Gee (who combines her work as a composer and vocalist, with the voice playing a key role in her conception of sound, from phonetic to semantic aspects); and Eric Wubbels (whose main focuses of interest are contrasted ideas and the passage of time). In addition to these composers, we will also hear Núria Giménez-Comas’ tribute to Bach, since her composition revolves around one of his fugues from The Art of Fugue, exploring its resonances. This is also something that is closely pursued by Luther Adams, who works solely with open strings and natural harmonics, with a resulting hypnotic sound that shies away from displays of virtuosity. One of the main of protagonists of this kind of work is Giacinto Scelsi, a musician who works on each string of each instrument in a detailed, individual way. Fausto Romitelli, also bases his work on sound, albeit moving from technology to instrumental sound. Romitelli’s Natura morta con fiamme is the outcome of research by the composer from 1990 to 1991 at the French Institute de Recherche et Coordination Acoustique/Musique (IRCAM), with the construction of a composition in the form of modules, made up of different sound objects, allowing for its formal organisation in blocks.


September 17, 2022
5:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Event Category:


Lepant 150
Barcelona, 08013 Spain
+ Google Map
93 247 93 00
View Venue Website